2012-13 Volunteer Award Recipients

“I love our volunteers – they bring personality, skill, dedication and talent to the Center,” said Executive Director Betty Nordwind. As she announced the Harriett Buhai Center’s 2012-2013 Volunteer Award recipients at the Donor Appreciation Brunch, Ms. Nordwind told the guests that clients would lose 50% of their legal assistance if individual lawyers and law students were not participating.

During the period through September 2013, volunteers donated over 25,000 hours of their time and expertise. Ms. Nordwind called the Harriett Buhai Center’s volunteers “an army” in the fight for social justice in America.  

The individuals recognized for exceptional volunteer service are:


Hall of Fame Award

Robert Moss 2012-2013


Frances Wender Kandel Volunteer of the Year Award

Nora Kavner 2012

Iran Hopkins 2013


Pro Bono Volunteer of the Year Award

Merlyn Hernandez 2012

Karen Rosin 2013


New Volunteer of the Year Award

Tala Davis 2012

Steve Goodin 2013


Distinguished Service Award

James Green 2013


25 Years of Service

Mercy Fresno

Lauren Petkin


20 Years of Service

Graham Sherr


15 Years of Service

David Ettinger

Janet Casey

Roger Halfhide

Carol Palumbo


10 Years of Service

Robert Moss

Ellen Peck

Adalberto Pena

Wilson Quan

Christine Twining